top of page

Organized Chaos


I'm a list maker. I love planning, organizing and arranging. When I was little I would play secretary where I would talk on a fake phone and take down hair and nail appointments. I would play for hours. I organized neighborhood clubs, complete with a newsletter, dues and field trips. My room would be trashed, but I would meticulously clean out my closet, inspecting every tiny piece of paper and knick knack, coming up with a way to turn them into a book, a collection, a poster, a future project, or some make-believe game.

As an adult, I once had a job where I was told to clean up the company's filing cabinets. I was pumped. Something about creating order from chaos excites me. As a teacher, I enjoyed cleaning other people's classrooms, labeling books, creating centers, and color coding the crap out of everything.

I would define my life as organized chaos. Everything has a place and a label, but at any given time, our house can be turned into a tornado of crafts, games, food, papers and books. We have our schedules, but we also have a fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants kind of attitude. We love to create and we love to play, and we love to be spontaneous.

Hence, my latest creation, Crafter's Nest. If you know me well, you know every time you come to my house, I have rearranged, painted something, bought new pillows and throws, added a photo wall, or repurposed a table to go with my current theme. I love to decorate and create a place where my family has fun and can relax.

So get a cup of coffee, make your to-do list with me and check out my current adventure, Crafter's Nest. Hope you find something inspiring here, and whether you make it yourself or order it from me, Happy Crafting!


bottom of page